Last item for navigation
66 RCPS students named AP Scholars 2021
Image says "College Board AP Scholars"Conyers, Ga. – Rockdale County Public Schools (RCPS) honors the 66 students recently named 2021 Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars – including two AP Capstone Diploma recipients – for their outstanding performance on the 2020-2021 exams.

RCPS Superintendent Dr. Terry Oatts said, "I heartily commend the scholars recognized by the College Board and their teachers for their excellent performance in Advanced Placement exams and in the advanced academics that are the precursor to such exams. Not only did they excel in rigorous college-preparatory coursework, but they remained focused despite the challenges of a global pandemic. We celebrate their tenacity and pursuit of excellence.”

Each year, thousands of high school students across the world take AP exams. The College Board recognizes the hard work of top students through the awarding of several distinctions: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction, and the AP Capstone Diploma.

Thirty-five RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars. This distinction is given to students who receive a score of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. Two were Heritage High School students and 33 were Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology (RMSST)/Rockdale County High School (RCHS) students.

Fifteen RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars with Honor, which is awarded to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and score a 3 or higher on four or more of those exams. All were RMSST/RCHS students.

Sixteen RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars with Distinction, which is awarded to those students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams and score 3 or higher on five or more AP exams. All were RMSST/RCHS students.

Two RCPS students earned the prestigious AP Capstone diploma. Both were RMSST/RCHS students. The AP Capstone is a diploma program based on two yearlong AP courses: AP Seminar and AP Research. Instead of teaching specific subject knowledge, AP Seminar and AP Research use an interdisciplinary approach to develop the critical thinking, research, collaboration, time management, and presentation skills students need for college-level work. Students who earn scores of 3 or higher in AP Seminar and AP Research and on four additional AP Exams of their choosing receive the AP Capstone Diploma.

All of these students are to be commended for their hard work and dedication to their education. Being recognized as an AP Scholar is an honor, and RCPS congratulates the following students:

AP Capstone Diploma:

Ava Bailey
Gabrielle Wood

AP Scholar with Distinction:

Duc Le
Jr Insular
Maxwell Zhang
Ryan Wood
Alexander Zakirov
Douglas Bone
Hailey Covarrubias
Jackson Meyers
Laura Goldgar
Margaret Hwang
Mariana Rios
MyTien Huynh
Zak Yassin
Ava Bailey
Gabrielle Wood
Madeline Lombard

AP Scholar with Honor:

Hannah Sanders
Isabella Powell
Sophia Fachisthers
Daniel Arias
Daniela Aguilar
Guinevere Grant
Hector Aguirre
Isaac Bare
Rose Francois
Sydney Moodie
Tyloni Bailey
Danielle Nguyen
Emma Macdonald
Faith Johnson
Hayley Sanders

AP Scholar:

Amani Roberson
Angel Gomez
Destiny Sarter
Elizabeth Combs
Jai'Ana Burditte
Jeriko Kammerer
Jorge Escalera
Kayla Lewis
Laila Wood
Lauren McWilliams
Amelia Page
Christian Davis
Clark Fulgham
Esme McKinney
Gabrielle Daley
Junay Gamory
Grayson Cornelius
Jerry Gonzalez
Joel Oniha
Karen Tejada
Madison Jackson
Morgan Gill
Nylah Ductan
Robert South
Samuel Clark
Sydnee Hairston
William Moss
Brittany Valencia
Caleb Buchanan
Catherine Sanderson
Jaca Buddenbaum
Michaella Cowin
Nawal Reza
Nicholas Cowin
Timothy Nguyen